Monash celebrates outstanding community leaders

 12 May 2016


Sixteen year old Mount Waverley student Neha Salahuddin was presented with the Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding Leadership at a glittering event at the Monash Gallery of Art last night.

Despite her youth, Neha has an impressive record of community service. Neha has fundraised for cystic fibrosis, was a finalist in the Rotary 4-Way public speaking contest and has advocated to improve indigenous health and education.

Mayor Geoff Lake said Council received 40 nominations for the annual awards, which were held during National Volunteer Week.

“Neha and her fellow nominees show just how strong and enduring the sense of community spirit is in Monash,” Cr Lake said.

“You often hear today that technology, globalism and the pace of life are leading to a decline in community spirit, but that’s certainly not the case in Monash.

“We have so many people who go out of their way to help others, whether it is to check on the welfare of their neighbour or to deliver meals on wheels or to coach their kid’s football team or any number of other volunteer activities.

“It’s a privilege to have been able to thank 40 of these community contributors in this year’s awards.”

The winners and finalists in all eight categories of the awards :

  • Sustainability Leadership – Loretta Leary. High Commendations – Bryan Loft, Environmental Advisory Committee Sustainability Strategy Working Group.


  • Inspirational Women’s Leadership – Margaret Hepworth. High Commendations – Crystal Fickers, Hazel Hockley, Jacqueline Teh.


  • Positive Ageing Leadership – Andrea Whitty. High Commendations – Fred Koeppler, Adrian Bartholomeusz.


  • Multicultural Champion – Binquan Yan. High Commendations – Nawal Moudgil, Mark Robertson.


  • Active Monash – Glen Waverley Socccer Club. High Commendations – Waverley Gymnastics Centre, Monash Warriors Gridiron Club.


  • Outstanding Advocate of People with Disabilities – Brian Girling.


  • Youth Leadership – Neha Salahuddin. High Commendations – Peter Sun, Angelica Moutsos.


  • Volunteer of the Year - Angelo Sardellis. High Commendations – Tony Walther, Lindsey Castle.

The winner of the  Sir John Monash Award for Outstanding Leadership, Neha Salahuddin, was chosen from among the category winners. Each winner will be profiled in the Monash Bulletin newsletter over the coming year, so people can learn more about their special contributions.


Contact: Geoff Lake 0411 645 281  or or Jo Robertson 0418 391 979 or email

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.