Our Profile & Growth

The City of Monash is a culturally diverse community in Melbourne's south-east suburbs.  We are home to an estimated population of 187,286 residents, making us one of the most populous municipalities in Victoria.

Our City (81.5 square kilometres) includes the following suburbs: Ashwood, Clayton, Glen Waverley, Hughesdale, Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Notting Hill, Oakleigh, Oakleigh East, and Wheelers Hill. Parts of Chadstone, Burwood and Oakleigh South are also included in Monash.

The Interactive Maps provide easy-to-access information such as: aerial photos, properties and addresses, community facilities, essential services, planning controls and parks and gardens.

Demographic information

For more detailed demographic information, you may like to visit the below community resources:

Key facts about Monash

  • 45% of our residents were born overseas, having come from more than 45 different countries
  • Monash residents are generally highly skilled and well-educated. Thirty per cent of Monash residents aged over 15 have a bachelor university degree or higher qualification (compared with 23% of the Greater Melbourne population)
  • Together, businesses in Monash provide 118,076 jobs. This makes Monash the second largest employment destination in Melbourne, after the Central Business District
  • The median age of Monash residents is 38 years old, a little older than Greater Melbourne (36 years). We have a significantly higher proportion of residents aged older than 64 years (17.2%) compared with Greater Melbourne (13.1%).

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Help us to improve

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Last updated: 22 September 2016