Our Profile & Growth

The City of Monash is a culturally diverse community in Melbourne's south-east suburbs.  We are home to an estimated population of 190,200 residents, making us one of the most populous municipalities in Victoria.

Our City (81.5 square kilometres) includes the following suburbs: Ashwood, Clayton, Glen Waverley, Hughesdale, Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Notting Hill, Oakleigh, Oakleigh East, and Wheelers Hill. Parts of Chadstone, Burwood and Oakleigh South are also included in Monash.

The new 2016 Census

Some of the new Australian Bureau of Statistics Census data (2016) about Monash  is now available online:

Just click on this link:   http://profile.id.com.au/monash/home

You can also visit the ABS website and search for more information at www.abs.gov.au and select Census / Quick Stats Search and Monash (under LGA - Local Government Area).  

Note:  Not all the 2016 data has been updated yetit is being progressively updated. The small green squares next to the links indicate those that have been updated.
By mid August more ABS Census data will be available on this website.

Acknowledgement of Country

Monash City Council acknowledges local Aboriginal Indigenous Australians, recognising the Wurundjeri people and Boon Wurrong clans of the Kulin Nations as the original custodians of the land now known as Monash.

On behalf of ratepayers and citizens of the municipality, Council pays respect to indigenous elders, past and present and values the lessons of indigenous experience in developing this strategy.

Demographic information

For more detailed demographic information, you may like to visit the below community resources:

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Help us to improve

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Last updated: 07 August 2017