Council elections are conducted by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) as required under the Local Government Act 1989.

During the Election Period, from midnight Tuesday 22 September until 6pm Saturday 24 October 2020, Councils are in a “caretaker period”. Read more: Caretaker period during Council election

Monash is represented by 11 Councillors who are elected by the community. Each of the Councillors represents a ward, or geographic area, within Monash.

Two Councillors represent Glen Waverley ward while there are three Councillors in each of the three other wards: Mount Waverley, Mulgrave and Oakleigh (see Ward Map).

Mayor for 2019/20

At a Special Meeting on 11 November 2019, Stuart James was elected Mayor for the next 12 months. A representative of Oakleigh ward, Cr James has served on Council since 2016. MT Pang Tsoi was elected Deputy Mayor.

Contacting Your Councillors

Please find below a list of Councillors according to the wards they represent.

Not sure who your Councillors are? If you are not sure which ward you live in, please visit this section of Council's website - See What's Around Me - enter your address and then scroll down past the map to see your Councillors.

Alternatively, view this map to see which ward you are in - Ward Map.

Glen Waverley ward

Mount Waverley ward

Mulgrave ward

Oakleigh ward

Councillor Code of Conduct

In February 2017, Council adopted an updated Code of Conduct for Councillors. The Code:

  • sets out the standards of conduct expected of elected representatives;
  • endeavours to foster good working relations between Councillors to enable Councillors to work constructively together in the best interests of the local community;
  • specifically seeks to lift the standard of behaviour of Councillors during Council meetings, Council briefing meetings and any other Council related meetings which Councillors participate in from time to time; and
  • mandates Councillor conduct designed to build public confidence in the integrity of local government.

Code of Conduct for Councillors (pdf, 149KB)

Enquiries: Governance team on 9518 3696.

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Help us to improve

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Last updated: 22 September 2020