Environmental Advisory Committee

Established in 2009, this committee played a crucial role in the development of the Monash Environmental Roadmap (pdf, 3MB), setting out environmental targets for Council to achieve.

The 2012-14 Environmental Advisory Committee provided direction and context during all stages of developing the Environmental Sustainability Strategy 2016 -2026. (pdf, 8MB)

Environmental Advisory Committee 2020- 2022

Nominations to be a member of our Environmental Advisory Committee closed on Tuesday 30 June 2020.

 Appointment of Committee Members 2018-2020

Thirteen members of the Environmental Advisory Committee 2018-2020 were approved by Council at is 24 April 2018 Council meeting following a public call for nominations.

At its 26 March 2019 meeting, Council approved the appointment of Gary Codner to the Environmental Advisory Committee until April 2020.

Committee members:

  • Andrew Armstrong
  • Ayusha Gupta
  • Howard Rose
  • Kallista Sears
  • Lee Tan
  • Phei (Faye) Lok
  • Steven Owens
  • Andrew Allan
  • Carlie Dann
  • Kym Boekel
  • John Krohn
  • Meredith Ralph
  • Romany Cullen
  • Gary Codner

Three Monash Councillors are members of this committee: Mayor Stuart James, Cr Josh Fergeus and Cr Brian Little (substitute representative - Cr  Rebecca  Paterson).


To advise Council on environmental and sustainability issues to improve environment in Monash. To achieve this, the Environment Advisory Committee will:

  • Provide input and advice to Council on issues of environmental sustainability
  • To provide input to the development of environmental policies
  • Provide input on behalf of the community and community organisations
  • Assist in determining the priority of activities to be undertaken and annual objectives
  • To provide input into projects that have an environmental focus
  • Actively support Council's consultation with and advocacy to the broader community
  • Monitor and review environmental and sustainability issues in Monash
  • Advocate to Council for the benefit of the Monash environment

Terms of Reference

Environmental Advisory Committee Terms of Reference (pdf, 257KB)


Contact Officer: call Trish McGee, Sustainability Coordinator, on 9518 3733 or email EACsupport@monash.vic.gov.au.

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Help us to improve

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Last updated: 01 July 2020