Our Profile & Growth

The City of Monash is a culturally diverse community in Melbourne's south-east suburbs.  We are home to an estimated population of 192,850 residents, making us one of the most populous municipalities in Victoria.

Our City (81.5 square kilometres) includes the following suburbs: Ashwood, Clayton, Glen Waverley, Hughesdale, Huntingdale, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave, Notting Hill, Oakleigh, Oakleigh East, and Wheelers Hill. Parts of Chadstone, Burwood and Oakleigh South are also included in Monash.

Monash demographic information

The latest Census data 2016 is now available online:

Monash economic profile

Economic Profile - Overview (pdf, 9MB)

Monash population forecasts

Acknowledgement of Country

Monash City Council acknowledges local Aboriginal Indigenous Australians, recognising the Wurundjeri people and Boon Wurrong clans of the Kulin Nations as the original custodians of the land now known as Monash.

On behalf of ratepayers and citizens of the municipality, Council pays respect to indigenous elders, past and present and values the lessons of indigenous experience in developing this strategy.

Subscribe to page updates

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Help us to improve

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed.

Last updated: 20 July 2018